How I became a Frontend developer in less 6 months with only an Android phone

ยท

5 min read

Introduction

christopher-robin-ebbinghaus-pgSkeh0yl8o-unsplash.jpg I found out about coding like many other tech enthusiasts out there, just surfing the web looking for nothing in particular. Although coding was impressive I didn't know how to start, where to go, what to learn first so I got discouraged and left it. ๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”

My school also closed and I came back home, I didn't have anything doing (well I did rehearse piano sometimes buh.. you get the point) I decided to use my PC learn web dev in 6 months. Then, tragedy struck ( daun dahn daahn!), My PC processor got bad. I didn't know what to do next ๐Ÿคง

After about a week, I started wondering, is it possible to learn web development with just an Android phone? Learning web Dev is isn't that hard, learning without proper equipment (a PC) ? Now that's a challenge ๐Ÿ‹๏ธ

Roadmap

And I'm talking about modern Frontend web Dev. So I decided to come up with a map It was almost April 1 This is the road map I came up with -->

Major:

  1. HTML - 3-5 days
  2. CSS(and good design principles understanding) - 1ยฝ months
  3. JavaScript - 3 months
  4. Git - the entire 5 months

Extra:

  1. React
  2. Sass
  3. jQuery

And I'll be done in time for Christmas ๐ŸŽ…๐Ÿพ.

Tools:

Well first I needed a place to write it, that won't make my experience as horrific as coding in MS word.

This took time but after a ton research and lots of testing I gathered the following apps sorted in order of descending order of complexity: (Higher complexity = Higher memory usage)

  1. Spck Editor
  2. TrebEdit
  3. Dcoder
  4. Acode
  5. Code Editor - by Rhythm code
  6. AnWriter
  7. Sololearn inbuilt Editor

I finally picked Spck Editor although Spck Editor lags sometimes so I also kept TrebEdit standby.

HTML/CSS:

I didn't know where to start. Bit one thing was certain... I wanted to become Web Dev in no time. Then I found crash courses ๐Ÿ˜‡ I took:

  1. HTML freecodecamp
  2. CSS freecodecamp (I didn't quite understand much towards the end of this one though)

I needed some reference guides because I kept/ keep forgetting lots of things ๐Ÿ˜…(gimme a break it's been hardly 2 months ๐Ÿ›€)

So I used the following: Sites:

  1. W3SCHOOLS
  2. Mozilla developer docs

Ebook

  1. HTML and CSS by Jon Duckett

Apps

  1. Sololearn (The HTML and the CSS courses)
  2. Learn Html - Codeliber
  3. Learn CSS - Codeliber

Next, after getting some of the basics I needed to build my design sense. The only way to do this was to learn from the masters. So I watched lots of YouTube videos from these channels and lots of random portfolio reviews to build my design sense:

  1. Online Tutorials
  2. Dev Ed
  3. Design course
  4. Flux
  5. Satori graphics (this one is actually about graphics designing but I watched it to build my understanding of design principles)

Then I decided to do 1 project per day for 8 days With this I was done with the basics of HTML and CSS in no time I was already considered really good in less than 3 months

Onward!!!

JavaScript

After I became familiar with Spck Editor and HTML/ CSS, I started JS (It was already May) With another crash course of course! ๐Ÿ˜Ž I went through the following courses again and again for 2 weeks.

  1. JavaScript freecodecamp
  2. Sololearn (JavaScript Course)
  3. Learn JavaScript - Codeliber

I won't deceive you, this wasn't easy It took about a month to be familiar with the DOM Next I Did some more projects to solidify my knowledge and started downloading and watching YouTube videos from the following channels:

  1. Dev Ed (his JS courses are awesome )
  2. Design course (yeah, for JS too)
  3. Frank's labatory
  4. Coding with Ania
  5. Florin Pop (this guy is awesome ๐Ÿ’œ)
  6. Online Tutorials

I started trying out some challenges.

  • I did the #100_days_of_code challenge.
  • I tried some single div challenges.
  • I tried Florin Pop 10 projects challenge.

I couldn't finish all but I became way better after making attempts (Lesson: just keep trying.

I started checking out React during the last week July. I couldn't use React with Spck Editor because it required data. So I found another app called "Astro for react and node.js" ( I'll write a tutorial on it soon). After about a week and half. It became overwhelming so I left it.

I did a few other projects. Like the Frontend of this one --> ( Do you remember how we met?firsttime2020.herokuapp.com/user/Princecode.. )

With this I was already a good Frontend developer ๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ Although it took slightly longer than I planned currently 5ยฝ months (August)

Git

One big mistake is I didn't start using GitHub until the last month ๐Ÿคง. And it took a while to get the hang of ( I'll make an article on how to use GitHub with Spck Editor soon.)

Extras

After learning JS to a good extent. I decided to go to the extras.

Sass

Sass was easy I could easily write sass in Spck Editor it was a no-brainer Took a day to start using Sass.

Decided to learn...

jQuery

Learning jQuery wasn't easy, I just couldn't understand it.

React

A story for another time... ๐Ÿ›€๐Ÿ›€๐Ÿ›€

Conclusion

And that's how I became a Frontend developer in 6 months

If this worked for me, it can work for you too. Just persevere and keep coding. Shout out to freecodecamp , Dev Ed , Design Course These guys made this challenge possible.

Some of the projects I made :

  1. My codepen --> codepen.io/princecodes247
  1. FirstTime --> firsttime2020.herokuapp.com/user/Princecode..
  1. Todo list --> princecodes247.github.io/easytodolist
  1. A Countdown Timer --> princecodes247.github.io/countdown-timer
  1. My portfolio (under construction ๐Ÿ˜…) --> princecodes247.github.io/Portfolio-December..